Please join us in celebrating the Media Research Center's 2013 Annual Gala and DisHonors Awards.

The MRC is getting set to defend our annual Gala's reputation as "the one fun dinner in Washington all year," to quote Ann Coulter. And we are ready for the challenge. Following in the footsteps of last year's 25th Anniversary Gala, the 2013 Annual Gala will be another star-studded evening. As always, it will include the DisHonors Awards and the William F. Buckley, Jr. Award for Media Excellence, but there are sure to be a few surprises guaranteed to make it yet another night to remember.

The Event

Date of the Event

Thursday, September 26, 2013
6:00 pm Reception
7:00 pm Dinner and Awards



JW Marriott
1331 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 393-2000
Room rate of $259/night available

Contact for more Information

Jamie Sullivan at
or 571-267-3453

Get ready for an elegant and action-packed evening of friends, food, music, and plenty of laughs at the expense of the liberal media.

Each year, nearly 1,000 conservatives gather to skewer the most preposterous, excruciatingly stupid, and downright hysterical instances of liberal media bias.

The Gala parodies the Oscars with Presenters and Acceptors, except unlike the Oscars, our event is fun, witty, and original.

While media bias is not always a laughing matter—the media are after all the chief propagandists for the Radical Left—we think every once in a while it's healthy to poke fun at the hardcore leftists who comprise the national press corps.

And we anticipate this year's Gala to be one for the record books. The leftist media are running a deplorable censorship campaign designed to keep Americans in the dark about the Obama Administration's radical agenda. As the MRC exposes and fully neutralizes the media’s assault on freedom, prosperity, and virtue—not to mention the truth—we are uncovering plenty of material for this year's awards. Seriously, some of the things you will hear will shock you!

DisHonors Awards

A new twist...

In prior years, a distinguished panel of judges selected the winners for the most biased media pronouncements in each category.

This year, fourteen judges — including Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, Mark Levin, Neal Boortz, and others – will select the nominees in the following categories:

  • Puppy Love Award
  • Damn Those Conservatives to Hell Award
  • Dan Rather Memorial Award for Stupidest Analysis
  • The Barbra Streisand Celebrity Dumb Ass Award

But for the first time ever, the audience will vote for the winner after watching video clips of the nominees, making this year's Gala our most interactive and high-tech yet.

A presenter will then present the award to the conservative leader accepting on behalf of the winning left-wing "journalist."

William F. Buckley, Jr. Award for Media Excellence

While we will dedicate the bulk of the evening to enjoying ourselves at the expense of the most outrageous moments in left-wing media bias, we will also honor superlative conservative journalism with the presentation of the 7th annual William F. Buckley, Jr. Award for Media Excellence. MRC President Brent Bozell presents this award to a conservative leader whose career exemplifies Bill Buckley's drive to penetrate the liberal media’s wall of bias with imagination and tenacity.

Past winners include Rush Limbaugh, the late Tony Snow, Brit Hume, and Cal Thomas. In one of the more emotional moments in Gala history, last year we presented the Buckley award to the late Andrew Breitbart, who was instrumental in launching the social media revolution, forever changing the political commentary landscape. These journalists shared an unyielding commitment to the truth, and refused to fall in line with the hardcore leftists who dominate the national press corps.

Special Guests

One of the most highly anticipated Gala attractions is the parade of special guests who show up at the Gala every year to accept an award or to make a special presentation. This year will be no different; we’re going to have special guests who we are not quite ready to reveal. Past guests included some of the biggest names in the conservative movement, including Justice Clarence Thomas, Attorney General Ed Meese, Virginia Attorney General and 2013 gubernatorial candidate Ken Cuccinelli, Sen. Zell Miller, Rep. Mike Pence and the late William F. Buckley, Jr.

These conservative giants help make the Gala a truly special and memorable evening.

Brent Bozell

Master of

L. Brent Bozell III


  • Monica Crowley
    Monica Crowley
  • Stephen Hayes
    Stephen Hayes
  • Chris Plante
    Chris Plante


  • Monica Crowley
    Jim DeMint
  • Mia Love
    Mia Love
  • Mike Lee
    Senator Mike Lee
  • David Webb
    David Webb


Give a little or Give a Lot.

If you're interested in sponsorship opportunities, would like to support the MRC's Annual Gala or are interested in learning more, please contact:

Jamie Sullivan at
or 571-267-3453

Media Research Center
1900 Campus Commons Blvd Suite 600
Reston, VA 20191

A special thank you to all of our supporters over the last 26 years. We cannot do what we do without your continued faith, support and encouragement.


Relax, Stay a While.

A room block has been reserved for guests of the MRC's Gala at the JW Marriott. Please mention the MRC when booking your reservations.

JW Marriott
1331 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 393-2000
Room rate of $259/night available