The Best of Notable Quotables; December 15, 1997

Vol. Ten; No. 25

1997 Award Judges:

Brent Baker, Editor of MediaWatch and Notable Quotables
Mark Belling, talk show host, WISN in Milwaukee
Neal Boortz, talk show host, WSB in Atlanta
L. Brent Bozell III, Chairman, the Media Research Center
George Brown, talk show host, WTAG in Worcester, Mass.
David Brudnoy, talk host, WBZ; Boston U. communications prof.  
Priscilla Buckley, Senior Editor of National Review
Tucker Carlson, staff writer, The Weekly Standard
Don Cook, Program Director, WCHS in Charleston, WVa.
Mark Davis, talk host, WBAP; columnist, Ft. Worth Star-Telegram
Midge Decter, author, New York City
Jim Eason, talk show host, KSFO in San Francisco
Barry Farber, nationally syndicated talk show host
Don Feder, Boston Herald writer and syndicated columnist
John Fund, editorial board member, The Wall Street Journal
Tim Graham, Director, media analysis, Media Research Center
David Gold, talk show host, KWRD in Dallas and Salem Radio
Kirk Healy, Executive Producer, Cox Radio, Orlando
Arianna Huffington, nationally syndicated columnist
Marie Kaigler, talk radio host and broadcaster, Detroit
Cliff Kincaid, co-host, Media Monitor
Paul Koloski, Editorial Editor, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review
Tim Lamer, Director, Free Market Project; Editor, MediaNomics
Mark Larson, talk host and general manager, KPRZ in San Diego
Richard Lessner, Editorial Page Director, Union Leader (N.H.)
Jason Lewis, talk show host, KSTP in Minneapolis/St. Paul
G. Gordon Liddy, national talk show host, CBS/Westwood One
Rich Lowry, national political reporter for National Review
Ross Mackenzie, Editor, editorial pg, Richmond Times-Dispatch
Tony Macrini, broadcaster, WNIS in Norfolk
Marlin Maddoux, host, Point of View radio talk show
Don Markwell, radio talk show host, WACV in Montgomery
Mary Matalin, national talk show host, CBS/Westwood Radio
Patrick McGuigan, Editor, editorial page, The Oklahoman
Jan Mickelson, talk show host, WHO in Des Moines
Wes Minter, talk show host, KCMO in Kansas City
M. Jane Norris, WAVE-TV host, WHAS talk radio host, Louisville
Robert D. Novak, syndicated columnist; CNN commentator
Kate O'Beirne, Washington Editor for National Review
Marvin Olasky, professor of journalism, U. of Texas at Austin
Janet Parshall, nationally syndicated radio talk show host
Henry Payne, editorial cartoonist & columnist, Scripps Howard
Dan Pierce, talk show host, WGIR in Manchester, NH
Wladyslaw Pleszczynski, Executive Editor, American Spectator
Michael Reagan, nationally syndicated radio talk show host
Mike Rosen, talk show host, KOA; columnist, Denver Post
William Rusher, Distinguished Fellow, Claremont Institute
Melanie Scarborough, ed. writer, Richmond Times-Dispatch
Ron Smith, talk show host, WBAL in Baltimore
Ted J. Smith III, journalism professor, Virginia Commonwealth U.
Philip Terzian, syndicated columnist  
Cal Thomas, nationally syndicated columnist
R. Emmett Tyrrell Jr., Editor-in-Chief of The American Spectator
Armstrong Williams, nationally syndicated columnist
Dick Williams, columnist; host of Atlanta's The Georgia Gang
Walter Williams, Professor of economics, George Mason U.
Thomas Winter, Editor-in-Chief of Human Events
Barry Young, President of WestStar TalkRadio Network, Phoenix